Four Educators Inducted into the Newberry Hall of Master Teachers

October 30, 2012

The Newberry College Department of Teacher Education and Sport Professions inducted four members into the Newberry Hall of Master Teachers.

The inductees were selected through a blind review which focused on the nominees’ professional activities, educational leadership, philosophy and influence on students and colleagues.

One person from each of the following categories was selected, a new teacher in the first five years of teaching, a veteran teacher, an educator working outside of the public school classroom and a retired educator.

The “new teacher” is Craig Wheatley. Craig is in his third year of teaching at White Knoll High School. He serves as the SGA Advisor, the US History Lead teacher and a district representative for the district end of course review panel.

The “veteran teacher” is Jennifer Howard. Jennifer teaches English and is growing future educators through her work as the Teacher Cadet teacher at Clinton High School.

The “educator working outside the public school classroom” is Chris Burkett. Chris currently serves as the Head of the Division of Education at Columbia College, Assistant Director of the Divergent Learning Program and Editor of the Teacher Education Journal of South Carolina.

The “retired educator” is Bill Hilton Jr. Bill was twice named South Carolina Science Teacher of the Year and honored as the state’s Outstanding Biology Teacher. Discover Magazine cited him as one of “50 Best Brains in Science” and among ten top amateur scientists in America.

“I am truly honored to have received this award,” said Craig Wheatley, the “new teacher” inductee.  “Newberry College gave me the foundation that I needed to become the teacher I am, and this recognition is a testimony of that.”

“The Newberry Hall of Master Teachers provides us with an opportunity to connect with our alumni in a positive way and allows us to celebrate that successes of those teachers Newberry College prepared,” said Dr. Cindy Johnson, creator of the Newberry Hall of Master Teachers. “It is a prestigious award and the first four inductees set a high standard for others to follow.”

« Back to List of News