Inaugural Newberry Athletic Awards Recap

April 23, 2014

NEWBERRY – The Newberry athletic department hosted the Inaugural Newberry Athletic Awards on Tuesday evening inside of Wiles Chapel, headlined by football and women’s tennis earning Team of the Year honors and Athlete of the Year honors going to Corey Washington and KerriAnn Barlage.

Presented by student-athletes and hosted by Brunes Charles and John Lesaine, the inaugural awards show featured awards voted on by coaches, athletic staff, fans and representatives of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

The Newberry Athletic Awards included a presentation by the Newberry Lettermen’s Club to the senior student-athletes set to graduate from Newberry in May. The Newberry Lettermen’s Club presented graduating senior student-athletes with coins depicting the Howling N logo mark to commemorate the student-athletes’ time at Newberry College.

In addition to honor student-athletes, coaches and teams, the Newberry Athletic Awards included the naming of the first ever Lifetime Achievement Award honoree. The Newberry athletic department presented longtime voice of Setzler Field, Jim Seay, with the award posthumously.

Team of the Year was presented to the football team after the Wolves reached the NCAA Division II Playoffs in its 100th season of football. The football team wrapped up the season 9-3. Women’s tennis earned Team of the Year for the women’s sports after the Wolves reached the SAC Championship match, falling one point short of the conference title. The Women’s tennis team finished the season 17-8 overall.

The SAC Women’s Lacrosse Player of the Year, Barlage was voted female Athlete of the Year, while Washington, an honorable mention All-American picked up the honor for the male athletes.

2014 Newberry Athletic Awards
Newcomer of the Year: Gerald Evans 
Newcomer of the Year: Caitlyn Warren
Individual Performance of the Year: Corey Washington 
Individual Performance of the Year: Haylee Lepaio
Billy Douglas Community Player of the Year: Brunes Charles 
Billy Douglas Community Player of the Year: Rebecca Eddy
Comeback Player of the Year: Letavious Williams
Comeback Player of the Year: Ashley Reetz
Team of the Year: Football
Team of the Year: Women’s Tennis
W.L. Laval Award: Samantha Parrish
Jimmy Villeponteaux Award: Chas Goodwin
Coach of the Year: Todd Knight
Coach of the Year: Todd Hay
Lifetime Achievement Award: Jim Seay
Athlete of the Year: Corey Washington
Athlete of the Year: KerriAnn Barlage

« Back to List of News