Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Links
3 males talking on campus by fountain


Newberry College Academic Departments Recognize Outstanding Students

May 15, 2020


NEWBERRY — Several Newberry College academic departments announced their student honorees as the 2019-2020 academic year drew to a close.


The departments of music, sciences and mathematics, and social and behavioral sciences have each awarded departmental honors to outstanding students. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, in-person award presentations have been postponed.




  • Outstanding Graduating Music Major: Kayleigh Riser, of Chapin
  • Department of Music Service Award: Ian Jones, of North Charleston, class of 2019


“Each year, we honor exceptional graduating seniors with two awards. This year, we recognize Kayleigh Riser and Ian Jones for their abilities and accomplishments,” said Dr. Chris Sheppard, chair of the department. “We are grateful to have had each student here and know they will accomplish great things in the years to come.”


Sciences and Mathematics

  • Outstanding Environmental Studies Major: Bruce Edmonds, of Columbia
  • Outstanding Biology Education Major: Tristan Simpson, of Leesville
  • Outstanding Forensic Biology Major: Jacob Fulmer, of Batesburg
  • Outstanding Pre-Professional Biology Student: Sikander Nielsen, of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Outstanding Biology Major Service Award: Andrea Getz, of Newberry
  • Outstanding Senior Biology Major: Mariah Lee, of Seaford, Delaware


  • CRC Press Achievement in Chemistry Award: Gregory Gerber, of Frederick, Maryland
  • American Chemical Society Undergraduate Research Award: Cody Lathrop, of Lexington
  • Western Carolinas Section of the American Chemical Society Newberry College Outstanding Chemistry Senior Award: Cody Lathrop
  • PolyEd Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Senior Award: Kelsey Havird, of Newberry
  • Outstanding Chemistry Major Service Award: Megan Clark, of Newberry


  • Outstanding Outreach in Mathematics Award: Dragana Petkovska, of Kriva Palanka, Macedonia
  • Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics Award: Dragana Petkovska
  • Pi Mu Epsilon, Honorary National Mathematics Society, S.C. Theta Chapter: Michelle Doby, of Lithonia, Georgia 


“We are proud of all of these deserving students and look forward to all of the great things that they will accomplish in the future,” said Dr. Bret Clark, chair of the department. “We regret that we cannot pay tribute to them this semester with a formal ceremony, but we hope to honor all of them in one form or another.”


Social and Behavioral Sciences, Senior Departmental Honors

  • Ashlie Brickle, a psychology major from Cope
  • Austin Brinson, a criminal justice major from Pickens
  • Selice Daley, a psychology major from Bluffton
  • Dante Meade, a political science major from Prosperity
  • Tara Pittman, a criminal justice major from Chapin


“The Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences awards departmental honors annually to students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of academics and leadership, civic engagement on or off campus, and independent research,” said Dr. Vinetta Witt, chair of the department. “These students have engaged in purposeful enhancements in their community with tenacity while maintaining the integrity of our core values and vision.”


The department will host an informal social for the student honorees before commencement exercises on Sept. 19, Witt added.

back to top