Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Links
3 males talking on campus by fountain


Newberry College Welcomes Criminal Justice, Sociology Honor Societies

July 16, 2019

Alpha Phi Sigma held its charter member induction ceremony in the spring 2019 semester. (Left to right): Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Sid Parrish, Dr. Patrick Beatty, Jacob Rhoad, Social and Behavioral Sciences Department Chair Dr. Vinetta Witt, Cierra Negron, Denelle Williams, Jade McDowell, Jessica Johnson, Megan Clark, Kendall Tipton, Timothy Martinez, Eric Brody, Katie Hayes, Jon Saullo, Madison Bauknight, Malik Whitfield, Mary Siebert, Jaquez Hartwell, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice Dr. Cynthia Eshleman. Not pictured: Austin Crocker.

NEWBERRY – Newberry College has announced the addition of two new national academic honor societies – Alpha Phi Sigma, for criminal justice students, and Alpha Kappa Delta, for sociology. The announcement comes after the respective field-specific organizations inducted their charter members earlier this year.


“We could not be prouder to be able to recognize our top criminal justice students for their achievement and further their potential,” said Dr. Patrick Beatty, assistant professor of criminal justice and advisor for the Pi Gamma Rho chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma. “This first class of inductees will have not only acknowledgement of their excellence, but also a network of resources to be successful in their chosen career paths.”


The following criminal justice students were inducted into Alpha Phi Sigma: Mary Siebert (Charleston, S.C.), Madison Bauknight (Chapin, S.C.), Katie Hayes (Roebuck, S.C.), Timothy Martinez (Pasco, Wash.), Megan Clark (Newberry), Alexis Jade McDowell (Charleston), Malik Whitfield (Anderson, S.C.), Jon Saullo (Beaufort, S.C.), Eric Brody (Orlando, Fla.), Kendall Tipton (Land O’ Lakes, Fla.), Jessica Johnson (Laurens, S.C.), Denelle Williams (Johannesburg, South Africa), Jaquez Hartwell (Summerville, S.C.), Jacob Rhoad (Newberry) and 2018 graduates Cierra Negron (Beaufort) and Austin Crocker (Laurens).



 “This is an amazing opportunity for our students to be recognized for their hard work in the sociology program,” said Assistant Professor of Sociology Dr. Naomi Simmons, advisor for Alpha Kappa Delta’s Nu of South Carolina chapter. “AKD provides a number of ways for students to be involved in research and in service to their college and the community.”


Alpha Kappa Delta conferred membership upon the following students: Madison Bauknight, Marisa Romanchek (Hanahan, S.C.), Mary Siebert, Cameron Clingan (Myersville, Md.), Shelby Britten (Victoria, Australia), Kendall Tipton, Allison Davis (Greensboro, N.C.), Emma Smith (Albany, N.Y.), Breante Miller (Spartanburg, S.C.) and 2018 graduates MacKenzie Swink (Cayce, S.C.) and Cierra Negron.


The two new organizations join other existing academic honor societies at Newberry College, including Blue Key Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Honor Society, the National Society for Leadership and Success, and similar organizations for English, history and mathematics.

Next Steps
Give Now