Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Links
3 males talking on campus by fountain


Newberry Welcomes 68 Graduates to the Ranks of Alumni at the Winter Commencement Ceremony

December 14, 2018


Newberry College hosted its winter commencement ceremony for the Class of 2018, celebrating the accomplishments of 68 graduates on Wednesday, Dec. 12, in Wiles Chapel. 

“Today is to recognize the achievements of our seniors seated before us in caps and gowns,” said Newberry College president Dr. Maurice Scherrens. “It is important that we acknowledge the contributions – emotional, spiritual and financial – of the parents, grandparents, spouses and other family members of the graduates of the December Class of 2018.” 

Newberry conferred the Honorary Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, to Dr. Mitchell M. Zais in recognition of his service and leadership to Newberry College, the State of South Carolina and his continued support of education across the U.S. 

The College also conferred the rank for professor emerita of Nursing to Dr. Betsy M. McDowell, who retired at the conclusion of the fall 2018 semester. 

The Newberry College Student Government Association each spring confers Professor of the Year honors upon a Newberry faculty member. That professor has the distinction of serving as commencement speaker at the December graduation ceremony. 

As the 2018 Professor of the Year, Dr. Amanda Hodges, associate professor of English and Director of the Summerland Honors Program, in her remarks to the graduates encouraged them to savior the moment. “Be brave enough to invest your talents,” Hodges said. “Take those meaningful risks and we can’t wait to see all the strength, understanding and goodness you will bring about.” 

Alumni Association president Mrs. Joyce Roof Carter ’82 welcomed the graduating class to the ranks of proud Newberry College alumni. 

“This is neither the end of your journey nor the end of your relationship with Newberry College,” she said. “Go forth from this campus an educated citizen and alumnus of this fine institution.”

Next Steps
Give Now