Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Links
Close button Close


Newberry College Recognizes Bachman Honor Scholars

November 15, 2021


NEWBERRY — Induction into the Bachman Honor Society has long been one of the highest honors Newberry College bestows on students.


Founded in 1962 by faculty and named for the college’s principal founder, the Rev. John Bachman, the society is home to seniors who finish in the top 8% of their class for GPA.


This year, the society decided to split its induction, historically a single ceremony each spring, to recognize seniors graduating in fall and spring respectively. The decision allows prospective fall graduates to receive this well-deserved acknowledgement with their peers.


The society held its first fall induction on Friday during Founders Convocation in Wiles Chapel, and welcomed the following five students:


  • Preston Bowers, an accounting major from Pomaria (pictured below)

  • Sarah Dominick, a psychology major from Newberry

  • Kelsey Havird, a biology major, with an environmental studies concentration, from Newberry (pictured below)

  • Emma McCall, an accounting major from Chapin

  • Denelle Williams, a criminal justice major from Johannesburg, South Africa

The society also honored one faculty member and one administrative staff member:


  • Patrick Gagliano, chair of the Department of Arts and Communications and professor of theatre and speech, who arrived at Newberry College in 1994 (pictured below)

  • Cindy Shealy, assistant registrar, who has served Newberry College since 1977 (pictured below)

Dominick, McCall and Williams were honored in absentia.

back to top